My Kentucky Derby Pick

I don’t really know much about horse racing. I can probably count on both hands the number of times I’ve been to the track. I know enough to be able to place a bet, but I don’t understand all the intricacies of picking a horse. For as much as I love stats and information in other sports, I honestly have no idea what half the information in the racing form means.

When my brother and I were little, my parents would go to dinner at the racetrack once or twice a year, and we would each pick a horse that they would bet on for us. I would study the entries in the newspaper and carefully make my pick. And now, more than 30 years later, I use the same scientific method — by going with the horse with the best name.

And on the first Saturday in May, my attention turns to Churchill Downs and the Kentucky Derby because, well, I like a good race. And every year, Matt and I each pick a horse so we have a rooting interest. With the race just two days away, here’s how I reached my pick.

Orb caught my attention because it’s such as short and ominous name. But maybe a little too ominous. Verrazano? The bridge wasn’t a big enough connection. Normandy Invasion and Revolutionary were too historical. Everyone loves kittens on the Internet these days, so Charming Kitten caught my eye. The kitten would have picked was Fear the Kitten, but unfortunately that’s an alternate entry at this point. Itsmyluckday was a little too obvious. I could not be lured by the rhyming of Palace MaliceBlack Onyx and Oxbow were a little menacing.

The previous paragraph should make my choice pretty clear — Overanalyze. Yup. This was one of my easier choices. Matt actually laughed out loud when he heard that name and knew immediately that it would be my choice. But to break from form, I’m  actually not going to overanalyze this choice.

Matt chose from among the 50-1 horses and is taking Frac Daddy. But unlike me, he feels no need to explain why.

So which horse are you picking this weekend?

Leave a Reply

