From Both Sides Now

JT WGI VELOCITY DP

Photo by Jennifer R. Thompson

I grew up fascinated with words, and Matt grew up fascinated with pictures. Together, the two of us could start our own newspaper! But instead, we’ve kept it on small side. I blog and Matt provides the awesome photos that go along with my words.

Inevitably, we’ve started to cross the lines into each other’s world. Matt is always on the lookout for typos in the newspaper, among other places, and he questions word choice. He’s irked when someone misuses its and it’s (or there, their, and they’re). And he’ll do a grammar and spell check before he posts on Facebook. I fear I’ve ruined him for life.

Matt sees a photo in just about everything. I have to be careful that I don’t lose him because he’s stopped to take a picture. I usually leave the photography to Matt. Why take photos when I have an expert along with me?

Jen Thompson BW VELOCITY DP

Same photo, but with Matt’s artistic touches

I don’t know why, but when we went to Watkins Glen for the Sahlen’s Six Hours at the Glen a few weeks ago, I asked whether he had a camera I could use.  He adjusted all the settings on the camera, and I just started shooting. And somehow, I ended up with the photo above. After Matt performed a little tweaking on the computer, I ended up with the beauty on the left. I fully and freely admit that I still don’t quite understand f-stops and shutter speeds. But I captured these images. And that was an amazing feeling.

I don’t expect that Matt is going to start his own blog, and I’m not running out to get my own camera. But every once in a while, it’s nice to see how the other half lives.

9 thoughts on “From Both Sides Now

  1. Jake says:

    I think it’s awesome, though, that you two basically collaborate for your posts here. Of course the words and ideas are yours, but the pictures compliment it perfectly. I’m not sure if there’s a cliché line about it being a metaphor for your relationship or not… but there ya have it. Haha, great post.

  2. mistyslaws says:

    I love the “we could start our own newspaper” line. And that is nice that you compliment each other so.

    I am clueless about f-stops. I’ve tried to learn so many times. It’s just easier to use the iPhone.

  3. Karen says:

    Great shots! My camera is sitting in a dusty box in the garage, sometimes I imagine it shaking its lens in disgust and muttering, “eff that stupid iPad!”

Leave a Reply

