Finding Football

I wrote this as part of Stream of Consciousness Sunday on Jana’s Thinking Place. The rules? Set the time for five minutes and write. No editing. And then publish. This is what I came up with.

***

Despite growing up in northern New Jersey in the heart of Jets and Giants country, I wasn’t a football fan as a kid. We didn’t watch football, except for the Super Bowl every year. The closest I came to football was the Miami Dolphins helmet I played with (although to this day, I have no idea where it came from) and the Nerf football we’d toss around the backyard sometimes.

And school didn’t make me a great football fan either. My high school football team wasn’t very good — soccer was the game to play. And my college team wasn’t so hot either. There was some great tailgating, but a large chunk of the tailgaters would leave and head to the downtown bars, rather than go to the game. I went to a few games my freshman year, but that was about it.

As the years went on, I started paying attention to football more, so that by the time I met Matt, it was easy for me to become a New England Patriots fan.

Now, I can’t get enough. I listen to Mike and Mike in the morning to find out the latest news. I run the family football pick’em pool. We even started watching college football when Matt’s cousin was playing at UCLA . (And we keep on watching him now that he’s playing in the NFL.)  It’s September 1 — I can’t wait for the start of football season!

2 thoughts on “Finding Football

  1. penneyfox says:

    I’m a big UGA fan and have pushed this on to my son, who proudly wears his Georgia tshirt every chance he gets. He says wants to go to UGA and play baseball there. We both know that he’s too small to play football but if he can get there, he’ll be able to at least go to the games 🙂

    • Jen T says:

      There is no college football tradition in the NY metro area like most other areas of the country. It’s so weird. I wish there had been.

Leave a Reply

