Ron Howard and F1 Made Us Go Back to the Movie Theater

It’s been years since Matt and I have been to the movies. Yes, years. I think the last movie we saw in the theater was Christian Bale’s debut as Batman. He’s made two more Batman movies and retired from the role since then. We’ve been quite content to wait until a movie comes out on DVD and watch it in the comfort of our own home, where we can pause it if we need a snack or a trip to the restroom.

But then something happened. Ron Howard made a movie about Formula 1.

Tonight, Matt and I ventured back to the movie theater to see Rush. And it was fantastic.

There have been so many great reviews of this movie, but here are a few of my thoughts:

  • Although I was five when the major events in Rush took place, it makes me a little sad that I wasn’t an F1 fan sooner than just a few years ago. But movies like this and Senna have been great opportunities for me to learn more about F1 history.
  • While technology and safety have come along way since the 1970s, it was interesting to see how many things haven’t changed, like the rivalry between Ferrari and McLaren and the politics of the sport.
  • Even though I pretty much knew what was going to happen, I was glued to my seat the whole time. Ron Howard has said that you couldn’t make up a story like this. And he’s 100% right. I am so glad he brought this story to life.
  • Loved the “cameo” by one of my most favorite places in the world — Watkins Glen. And Mario Andretti’s John Player Special, which we saw run in a historics race at the inaugural Indy Car race weekend at the Glen.

Based on all the chatter on Twitter the past couple weeks, I felt like the last race fan to see this movie. But if you are a race fan and haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend that you get down to your local movie theater right away to see (and hear) it on the big screen. You won’t be disappointed.

One thought on “Ron Howard and F1 Made Us Go Back to the Movie Theater

Leave a Reply

