My Happy Place

Jen fog esses view

These two photos may look vaguely familiar to you. They’re the avatars I use for my blog. When I was trying to decide what photos best represented me, these were the two I gravitated to. Because these two photos remind me of my happy place — being at the race track. The photo on top is me sitting on top of the Daytona 500 Club in the fog the wee hours of the morning at the Rolex 24. I couldn’t see two feet in front of me, but I was still content to sit there and  listen. The second photo is from the porch at the Glen Club at Watkins Glen. We had drinks in hand and a great view of the esses, waiting for the race to start.

Yes, the track is my happy place because I do love the cars and the racing. But I also love being there because it’s a great place to escape for a couple days. I get absorbed in what’s going on at the track, and I don’t have to think about anything else.

Race season is just about over, but the Rolex 24 is about three months away. Not that I’m counting or anything.

4 thoughts on “My Happy Place

  1. Liz says:

    Wow. The top photo truly captures being at a sporting event to me, with the hazy and the bright lights. I have to admit I’ve never been to a race, but now I want to go! I hadn’t thought about how going to a race means going away for a few days.

  2. Sabrina says:

    The thought of fog immediately calmed me. Funny how peaceful having no sense of direction can be, if we embrace it. I mean, what’s there to do when you have no idea what to do. And the second picture…well, there’s no wonder why these make you happy! 🙂 Happy NaBloPoMo from your rowmie at Yeah Write!

  3. cynkingfeeling says:

    You’ve reminded me once again how unobservant I am. I never noticed that you are at a racetrack in that photo. I don’t know what I thought you were looking at, but I never really focused in enough to actually see.

Leave a Reply

