Racing Movie Project: Cannonball Run

cannonball runMovie: Cannonball Run

Year: 1981

Starring: Burt Reynolds, Dom DeLuise, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis, Jr., Farrah Fawcett, Adrienne Barbeau

Plot: A crazy cast of characters compete in an illegal race across the country. Hilarity ensues.

Rating: ⚐⚐⚐ (out of 5)

My thoughts: This was the third movie in the Burt Reynolds trifecta in the Racing Movie Project. Cannonball Run is a movie from my childhood. I remember seeing it as a kid and not understanding half the jokes. But the cars and the slap stick cracked me up. Cannonball Run is another in the series of the racing movies from the early 1980s, but unlike the others, this is not a Lifetime movie.

It has been quite a few years since I’d seen this movie. A lot of it came flooding back to me. Because I had seen it so many times as a kid, I could recite many of the lines along with it. For all I remembered, I couldn’t believe I had forgotten Captain Chaos.

When I rewatched it last week, I realized how much has changed in the more than 30 years since it was made. It was the simple things like the menu screen on the DVD, which featured the movie poster and the “MAXIMUM SPEED 55” sign. Also, there was a lot of drinking and driving in this movie. I mean, drinking while driving. To quote Matt, Cannonball Run “still plays pretty funny but it’s quite politically incorrect.” Yup. A lot has changed since 1981.

I laughed at Jackie Chan’s Subaru outfitted with the computer. Thirty years ago, there was no way we could imagine watching a movie in the car or having the car know exactly where we are. Those are all but standard features today. OK, maybe we don’t have the rockets, but it seems Jackie was a man before his time.

Cannonball Run featured some great 80s stars like Bert Convy and Jamie Farr. I know all I want to do here in the Racing Movie Project is remake some of these movies. But if you were going to remake Cannonball Run (or make a similar movie), which stars from today would cast in it?

Next week: We’re getting close to the finish. Only two movies to go. Next week is Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby.

Leave a Reply

